Raven's View
Raven's Readings
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer - Chapters #3, 4
0:00
-36:03

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer - Chapters #3, 4

Tom falls in love.

Welcome to Raven's Readings. I'll be reading from The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, published in 1876 by Mark Twain. It's set in 1840 along the Mississippi River, near the town of Hannibal, where Twain grew up. It's been praised as a literary masterpiece, and also criticized for the occasional use of the 'n-word' and the way that Injun Joe characterizes Native Americans. Disclaimer here, I will be reading it as is, all the words. Mark Twain, or rather Samuel Clements, was very much anti-slavery way back then, and his book does expose the prejudices of the time. That's all part of Tom's story.

I do readings twice a week, Tuesdays and Fridays. If you subscribe to my Substack newsletter, you'll get notified of my updates as soon as they are ready. If you enjoy this reading, or have other classics you'd like to hear, leave me a comment.

We've met Tom, and some of the other characters, and saw how to get others to do your work for you in life - such as whitewashing a fence. In the next two chapters, Tom meets a girl, and tries mighty hard to impress her.

If you subscribe to my newsletter, you'll get the next installments as soon as they are ready. If you enjoy this reading, and would like more of my stories or maybe some of the classics, leave me a comment.

And remember that you can manage here which sections from my SubStack you'll get emails for - Fiction, Odds and ends, Podcastings, or all. 

Treat me to a coffee

Leave a comment

Share

Discussion about this podcast

Raven's View
Raven's Readings
Readings from my own stories and some of the classics, all quirky and with a bit of a chuckle. Comments to ravensview@gmail.com or my substack.